How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Discord

How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Discord

Discord becoming the number one choice for gamers and youngsters who love to chat online using a private and unique platform.

However, with that in mind, the Discord app is also seeing a number of updates with a lot of new features such as blocking and choosing a custom username. Since anyone on Discord can block another person without them knowing.

Here a question arises, how you can tell if someone blocked you on Discord? and here's how you can do it in the simplest ways:

1. Screen Shaking Notifications on Discord

The best ever method to check if you are blocked by someone on discord is to open a chat thread and try reacting to a message in direct messaging options. Here's how:

  • Open the DM option on Discord find your contact
  • React to any of the messages you may have received earlier from the recipient
  • If your screen shakes and you are not able to react, you are probably blocked by the recipient

That's it if you try to react to a message and you can't, you have been blocked by that recipient and 

2. Use DM Feature of Discord

Just like other platforms such as Instagram DM and Facebook's Messenger Inbox, there's a Discord DM feature that lets you send and received direct messages (DMs) and this feature can help you understand if someone blocked you on Discord or not.

Here's how:

  • Go to the DM chats and find your contact
  • Send a "Hello" and if you are blocked by that user, Discord will let you know
  • On the other hand, if you are not blocked, the message will be sent successfully

If it's about blocking, you will get a notification by Clyde (Discord Bot) telling you:

"Your message couldn’t be delivered because you don’t share a server with the recipient or you disabled direct messages on your shared server, the recipient is only accepting direct messages from friends, or you were blocked by the recipient".

However, this method is not fully reliable as it's the same way to check if the recipient selected his/her privacy options for DMs to "Only Friends Can DM" and such settings will show you the same error message.

So, we can't really tell if someone blocked you on Discord server or Chat room, or it's just about their privacy changed.

NOTE: Just make sure that, if you are on the same server where a recipient blocked you, you will still be able to see his messages and wise versa, your friends will also be able to see your messages even when you blocked them or your friends blocked you and still using the same discord server. Even your friends will be able to see you and interact with you and even listen to your voiceovers when you are using a shared server and you will be able to see your status too. However, you can hide everything from your own profile.



Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post